Despite of storm Nemo, I braved bells and whistles to reach the MoMA this weekend.

This sweet aventure brought me in front of Barbara Kruger’s work. Barbara Kruger is a famous American collage artist born in 1945. But more particularly in front of her shopping bag made for Germany in 1990. A shopping bag with one of Barbara’s design, dated before 1980’s, printed on it. The piece of art is called «I shop therefore I am», it is photolithograph on paper.

Words she uses has indeed an immediate impact on the viewers and refer to mass consumption and to the cult of the individual in society. Let’s see how this piece of design is organized.

She takes images from mass media and pastes words over them, in Futura Bold. She uses advertising techniques for her designs. When I look at the piece the color red pops out right away. Therefore, the red triangle is the main element of the design. The photography used as the background shows a man’s hand which is holding the red triangle. The photography is blurry therefore accentuated the triangle and the type on it. The hand’s index is the most visible finger of the hand, this finger points us the first «I» of the text, which make my eye look at this point of the image before everywhere else. Moreover, the fact that the word «therefore» is placed in the center of the triangle and is in a more little type size than the other words, make us read the sentence with doing a pause after «I shop». So, it accentuates the second «I». Having both of the «I» in relief refers to the individual, and metaphors the fact that the individual is considered as the most important entity.

In my opinion, the shopping is efficient because the message is clear, the design catches the viewers’s attention and most of all, the concept plays with the russian dolls idea. We are putting a loud message denouncing a form of society on its own emblem.

Isn’t striking enough  ?

Image

Image