Things to come_sketch

557.1999

My $0.02 on Herbert Bayer’s Things to Come (1938) print, currently being shown at the MoMA. (Posted on 09/08/2013 https://thistothen.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=456&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2)

What I discovered while looking at this design was the relationship between the world and the mind, which are linked through the body. My takeaways from this design were that the body links things and thinking through doing (affecting things in the world and our relationship to them). Including perception, bringing information from the world to our thinking.

I thought this was great because it there is a clear connection between the mind, body and world in this design on both an internal (mental) and external (environment) level. I also was drawn in to the aesthetic design element where he mixed hand sketching with bold background and thin detailed lines. Small but powerful piece!